top of page


Volunteers are the heart of SCEF

SCEF is governed by a working board of volunteers who provide their professional expertise to the organization. In addition, members of the community serve on committees, helping with marketing and messaging, planning auctions and events, seeking sponsorships and more.


We are seeking committee members with experience in marketing, finance, or event planning. There are many on-going and shorter-term opportunities to apply your professional experience to make a difference for San Carlos public schools. 

Please contact our Governance Chair, Alana Corso at to learn more.

SCEF Service Award Recipients

Service Award Recipients

Every year we honor volunteers for their support and generosity of time and talent to the benefit of the children of San Carlos.

Honorary Service Award Bonnie Sherman

Bonnie Sherman

Cathy and Eric Von der Porten Stewardship Award

Recognizing exceptional dedication to our school community through their contributions of time and talent. 

Bonnie Sherman is the 2021 recipient of the Cathy and Eric Von der Porten Stewardship Award. This award is presented to the individual who has made a significant impact on our school community through their contributions of time and talent.  Bonnie has been a board member of SCEF starting as a SCEF Rep at BA and, most recently, serving as VP-Fund-a-Need.  She produced a very successful Fund-the-Future campaign in 2021 including managing the production of an engaging video  Her efforts resulted in raising over $230,000 for the implementation of new Next-Generation Sciences curriculum in all San Carlos public schools. We are grateful for her contribution of time and talent!

Honorary Service Award Hazel Stabinsky

Hazel Stabinsky

Carrie Du Bois Spirit Award

Demonstrating energy and determination that lift up our whole community.

Hazel has been a tireless volunteer in our school community most recently serving as VP SCEF Reps on the SCEF board.  In addition to her work at SCEF she has been a PTA president, co-chair of the PTA Coordinating Council, and a site coordinator for Healthy Cities Tutoring. During the pandemic Hazel worked with principals and community partners to provide food relief to families in need.

Honorary Service Award Roberta Marks

Roberta Marks

Mark Olbert Service Award 

Outstanding volunteer service beyond the highest expectations.

Roberta Marks has been SCEF VP Gala since she joined the SCEF board in 2015-16.  Roberta has worked with other board members and volunteers to produce several SCEF Galas making arrangements with the various venues and overseeing the  logistics involved in hosting fundraising events.  When the SCEF board was restructured she was named SCEF VP-Events overseeing all SCEF events including the annual Evening at TOWN.  A parent of a student at San Carlos Charter, Roberta has dedicated her time to raise funds to help fund programs and staffing at all San Carlos public schools. 

Teresa Lyngso

Teresa Lyngso, Lyngso Garden Material

Greg St. Claire Business Award

Honoring a business partner who has made a significant impact on our school community. We are honored to present the 2021 Greg St. Claire Business Award to Teresa Lyngso of Lyngso Garden Materials.

Lyngso Garden Materials has been a SCEF Business Gold Sponsor since they moved their operation from Redwood City to San Carlos several years ago.  They have not only provided financial support but have provided in-kind contributions of materials to many school garden and beautification projects. We are grateful for their unwavering support over the years.

SCEF Board of Directors

Board Members


President: Karla Donahoe
VP, Finance/Treasurer: Susan Raymond
Secretary: Alana Corso
VP, Business Development: Corbie Kiernan
VP, Leadership Circle: Annie Wilson
VP, Marketing: Katherine Sherman
Co-VP, Events: Debbie Blucher
Co-VP, Events: Michelle Huljev
VP, Stewardship: Jennifer Rudy
VP, School Reps: Sheila Brar
VP, Workplace Giving: Paige Sarmiento

School Rep, Arundel: Sheila Brar
Co-School Rep, Brittan Acres: Kristen Carlson
Co-School Rep, Brittan Acres: Chez Rueda
School Rep, Heather: Kiersten Daniel-Baca
Co-School Rep, White Oaks: Jennie Romeo
Co-School Rep, White Oaks: Brenda & Dan Fridman
Co-School Rep, Arroyo: Katy Mossawir
Co-School Rep, Arroyo: Jennie Romeo
School Rep, Mariposa: Annie Wilson
School Rep, Central: Debbie Blucher
School Rep, Tierra Linda: Jessica Myers-Schechter
School Rep, SC Charter: Katherine Sherman


Executive Director: Kathy Parmer-Lohan
Operations Manager: Scott Cleaveland
Events Operations Administrator: Christopher Kashap
Bookkeeper:  Joanne Chow

There are many opportunities to serve on various committees and board positions. If you are interested in learning more, please contact

Sign Up to Volunteer

Sign Up Form
bottom of page